Today I will share with you the secret to beautiful, soft, lush hair.

If you’re a cat, that is.

It’s fish oil.

These little guys.

My Russian Blue, Simon, has had dry flaky skin for years. I call it “butt dandruff” because it’s worse around his back and tail. After pondering the problem of trying to find a moisturizer for someone covered in a coat of thick fur, I remembered seeing fish oil capsules in the vitamin aisle. I bought a bottle and started giving him one a week. I couldn’t get him to swallow the pills, so I just poked a hole in them with a pin and squirted it over the dry area. He groomed himself and consumed the oil, his skin stopped flaking so much and his coat became thicker and softer.

And then the kittens came into our happy home.

The kittens, Firefly and Fearless, were very undernourished when I acquired them; when I took them to the vet for the first time it was discovered that tiny Firefly had a heart murmur caused by blood loss from the extensive flea infestation she had. They were both filthy and covered with fleas, it took me forever to get them cleaned up.

baby pictures!

But it was worth it.

The first time I gave Simon his fish oil after I got the kittens, two things became abundantly clear; kittens that have been half-starved like to eat, and fish oil smells a lot like kitten food.

Those little kittens followed him around like his ass was made of candy. Every time he thought he was safe and could start grooming himself, one of the kittens would take a swipe at him. They followed him all over the place trying to get the oil off of him. Clearly I was going to have to try something else.

A couple of times I punctured the capsule (that sounds like a euphemism) and squirted the oil in his mouth. He hated it, I hated it, I got fish oil all over me and he bit me twice. Scratch that off the list.

While washing fish oil out of my t-shirt, it occurred to me again that it smelled a lot like wet cat food. I had been giving the cats a tablespoon of wet cat food in the morning and the next day I mixed Simon’s oil into his food. He ate some of it but the other two seemed to like his better. They ended up eating his food while he ate theirs.

Okay, I’m not going to be outsmarted by a cat. I can take care of this.

The next dosing day, I put fish oil in all of their food. They scarfed it down like it was caviar.

These days they all get their oil once a week, they seem to enjoy it and I have noticed that their coats are very soft and smooth. It’s like the oil conditions it.

I use Puritan’s Pride Omega-3 Salmon Oil 500mg capsules; Puritan’s Pride runs near-constant “Buy 1 Get 2 Free” sales and if you sign up for their newsletter you can get free shipping codes from time to time. Just don’t use an email that you care about because they will fill your box with ads and you’ll get a catalog in the mail every few months.

The fish oil trick would probably work on dogs as well, I don’t have one so I can’t say for sure. The dosage or frequency would have to be increased if the dog was larger than a cat.

