(Notice – I’m on vacation this week, so I may or may not be able to do a full post every day. Depends on how busy I get doing other stuff.)

 

 

My nephew, whom I shall call GhostBoy, is visiting for a few days. I love having him here because I very rarely get a chance to spend time with him, so I asked him if he would like to play LEGO Batman and he said “I guess.” Not a ringing endorsement but hey, I’ll take it.  This is what happened;

I get the game set up and give him the Wiimote (I only have one) and ask if he wants to continue the game I’ve been playing or start a new one.

“Can I just run around and smash stuff?”

“There’s a Free Play mode, but I’ve only unlocked a few levels. You might want to play the missions first so you can learn how everything works. They go pretty fast.”

“I can figure it out.”

I get him to the first mission where things are pretty easy and  as soon as the game starts he starts in with the questions.

“How do I walk?”

“Use the toggle.”

“I can’t use the stuff. How do I use the stuff?”

“What stuff? You’ve only been playing for two minutes.”

“The Batman stuff.”

“If you did the mission it would tell you how to use the stuff.”

Bad guys arrive and begin punching him. He starts violently jerking the Wiimote around.

“It’s not letting me hit them!”

“You have to press the buttons.”

He continues jerking the Wiimote around.

“It’s not working!”

“Press the buttons.”

He finally figures out how to hit things and use the grappling gun and Batarang. I give him plenty of pointers and he manages to get the end of the level. Upon returning to the Batcave (the main menu area) he gets a text on his cell. (I think it was the third one in the fifteen minutes it took him to get through the level.) I decide to go get my clothes out of the dryer. I come back and he’s in a completely different part of the game.

“Hey, did you know there was a plane and a boat in the cave that you can ride in?”

“Yeah, but I haven’t gotten to those areas of the game yet.”

He starts a mission I haven’t done and immediately begins having some trouble.

“What do I do?”

“I don’t know, I haven’t gotten this far.”

“What do I do now?”

“I don’t know, I haven’t gotten this far.”

He gets a call on his cell and gives me the Wiimote so he can go into the other room and talk to whomever it is. I fiddle around a bit before he comes back and starts playing again. He gets frustrated after a few minutes and gives me the Wiimote again.

“Here.”

“Are you giving up?”

“Yeah.”

He leaves, presumably to do more texting, I shrug and go back to the Batcave and see if I can improve my score on the awesome chase game from the first chapter.

The moral of this tale – Always do the tutorial if you’ve never played a game before. And I should probably get another Wiimote so I can play with him next time.

