This is an update of sorts to a previous post regarding the peacock that lives around my house.

There was some discussion over whether this peacock was a girl or a boy, but that debate has been settled.

Relying on my keen intellect and superior detective abilities*, I have solved this fascinating enigma.

'Cause boy birds don't build nests.

Our peahen was gracious enough to build her nest close enough to our garage that we can sneak up on her without wading through the chigger-infested scrub.

*(Actually, GhostDad said to me one morning; “Come look at this.” and showed me where the nest is.)

So GhostDad was right about it being a girl and I was … less right.

She has spent a lot of time on the nest; I was somewhat concerned that a dog or coyote might get ahold of her, since I’ve never see peafowl fly before. That worry has also been laid to rest.

One morning last week I was taking my weekly bag of trash out to the big trash can and saw the peahen scrounging for bugs in the grass. I must have startled her because I heard this odd noise and she wasn’t there anymore. I went to the end of the porch, thinking she had run down the hill towards the trees, and saw this;

I guess I startled her.

That is a peahen perched on the roof of our utility room, at least fifteen feet off the ground. I’m less worried about her getting eaten now.

"Hey, I can see my nest from up here!"

It is highly doubtful that we will be getting any little visitors; while it is remotely possible that she is getting some lovin’ elsewhere, it is not terribly likely.

