Today we have another entry from the Weird Work Files!

At [ghostbank] we have numerous signs up, each about ten inches square, that say “Please refrain from cell phone use while conducting [ghostbank] business. Thank You.” in white on a dark blue background. I can tell you exactly what they say because I can see six of them from my desk, including the one that is actually on my desk right next to where people sign in.

The fact that we have so many signs does very little to curb people’s cell phone use – I have had customers come in, sign in to see some one, transact whatever it is they need to transact, and leave without finishing their phone call.

My boss’ rules on cell phones are very clear – if someone is on their phone we are not to interrupt them but wait until they are finished with their call and then see if they need any help.

Not long ago I had a woman come in and stand in front of my desk. She was talking on her cell and made no attempt to sign in on the sign-in sheet, which is clearly marked with a large SIGN IN HERE sign, so I continued what I was doing and kept an eye on her to see if she would need anything. She paced back and forth a bit and then circled around my desk to where our waiting room is. She sat there for maybe ten minutes, talking quite loudly into her phone. It is quite common for people to sit in the waiting area while they wait for someone who is at the teller line – there is nowhere to sit in the lobby so they go to the waiting room.

After about ten minutes, during which the phone never left this woman’s ear, I hear her calling me. She was also continuing her conversation with whomever she was speaking to.

“Miss! Miss! Hold on a sec. Miss!”

“Yes, Ma’am?”

“Is anyone going to help me? I’ve been waiting for twenty minutes!  No, I don’t think so. Well, tell her I told you not to.”

“I’m sorry, Ma’am, but you didn’t sign in so I didn’t know you needed to see someone. If I can get your name, I’ll see if I can find someone to help you.”

“I did that already! No, not you. This idiot at the bank. I’ve been waiting forever – like half an hour. Well, that’s what I’m trying to do.”

I bring the sign-in clipboard over to her.

“I already signed in!”

“I’m sorry Ma’am, but you didn’t. If I can just get your name here…” She pushed the board away.

“I told you, I already signed in! I know, every time I come in here it’s like this. Well, it’s the branch closest to the house. No, I didn’t know there was one over there. Is someone going to help me or not? It’s been forty-five minutes!”

By this point I was tempted to just sign her in as Mouthy Bitch Who Needs A Watch, but one of my coirkers rescued me and took her into their office. According to Coirker, she did nothing but complain – about me, about [ghostbank] and the way “we” had caused her account to be overdrawn, about everything really. She kept up the dual conversations the entire time she was in Coirker’s office as well.

