It occurred to me that even thought I consider myself a sculptor, I haven’t posted any pictures of my work. Mostly because I tend to use easily malleable materials like clay that I can reuse over and over and often forget to take pictures.

But then I remembered an old piece that I do have pictures of!

Since this seems to be “All About Me!” week, enjoy!

 experimental sculpture

 experimental sculpture

 experimental sculpture

 experimental sculpture

I made her out of spray foam insulation with plaster over it – I squirted a lump of foam, let it set, and started cutting away all the bits that looked wrong and then tried to smooth out the lines with plaster. She was – I think – about eight inches tall and probably less than three inches wide at the widest point.

I was never really happy with how she turned out, the plaster didn’t stick very well to the foam and the foam was too soft for any fine carving – the plaster just cracked and flaked off and I never really got the detail that I wanted. You  can see in the photos the little nuggets of plaster that fell off just moving her around to take pictures. She was really more of a three-dimensional sketch than anything else.

I finally threw her away after repairing her about a dozen times. An interesting experiment, though.

