One of my coirkers that I share my lunchtime with just turned twenty-one. I’ve had to hear about this for several months leading up to the actual birthday, and even afterwards. She is primarily concerned with the fact that her steady boyfriend has not proposed to her yet. They have discussed it and have even looked at rings and are in the process of looking at houses.

But he hasn’t actually asked her yet.

This is all from conversations I’ve overheard, I spend most of my lunch reading but she has one of those voices that carries. Despite all this fella has done for her, she’s getting progressively antsy that he hasn’t actually proposed. I got fed up the other day and finally asked her why she didn’t just propose to him.

She looked at me like I was insane.

“I can’t do that! It’s not right.”

I’m sorry, what century are we living in?

When I asked her why she couldn’t, she gave a sniff and told me it was against her religion.

Again, what century are we living in?  Where is it written in any religious text that you must have a penis to propose marriage?

 

