…To scrape frost off your car.

I’m a Southern girl, born and raised, and I hate cold weather. More than hate, I loathe it. Hot weather I can handle, but cold? No, thank you. Cool weather is fine, but cold weather where you have to scrape off your windows every blasted morning is a pain in the ass.

My particular corner of the South is far enough north that we get some very cold weather, occasionally some snow but sleet and freezing rain are far more likely in the winter.

It’s getting to be that time of year where it starts getting frosty in the morning. So far it’s only been a few days a week, but that will get worse as it gets colder. Our humidity is such that you can almost guarantee that there will be some form of moisture, frozen or not, on your car in the mornings.

Now, I could go out and start the car and let it get all warm and toasty and let the frost melt from the internal heat, but I am what some might call “frugal” (stop laughing, Mom, or I’ll tell everyone about the ass-muffins) and don’t see the reason to waste gas like that unless I need to. So I would start the car and scrape the windows as fast as I could and end up frozen myself.

I thought to myself “There has to be a better way.”

And, as usual, I was right.

Like many people, I use a de-icing windshield wiper fluid in the wintertime. I was filling the reservoir up and got to thinking. Why couldn’t I use the same stuff on the side windows and back glass? I filled a spray bottle with the stuff and the next cold morning I gave it a try. It did melt the frost, and quite fast, but after a while whatever chemical was in it (probably alcohol) would evaporate and the solution would turn to slush. Driving down a curvy backroad is a bad time for your windows to start clouding over.

Enter my trusty squeegee!

As mentioned earlier, thee is usually some form of moisture on my car in the morning. If it’s dew, I use a regular bathroom squeegee to clean it off so I can see. So I started using my dew-squeegee to clean off the de-icing spray. Instead of spending fifteen minutes chipping the ice off my car on cold mornings, I just spray and swipe – it comes right off. Thick coatings of ice usually take a couple of tries, but significantly less time than the old-fashioned method of curse-and-scrape.

I’ve been using this method for a few years, last year I noticed that they had started selling the deicer in spray bottles – for the price of one spray bottle you can buy the regular jug of wiper fluid and fill a similar-sized spray bottle almost three times.

(Of course, since I’ve written this we have started experiencing a streak of unseasonably warm weather so no action shots. Blast it.)

