While I have been a long-time fan of Western animation, it has only been in the past year or so that I have ventured into the world of Japanese animation AKA anime.

My first introduction to Anime was Sailor Moon back in high school and it was pretty sucktastic. A few months ago I watched  Howl’s Moving Castle for the first time.

Wow. Just … Wow. That shits rocks.

Is it bad that I want my room to look like this?

 

For my next sojourn into the world of non-tentacle Japanese animated entertainment, I picked another Studio Ghibli film,  Castle in the Sky.

That shit also rocks.

I now want a gardening robot for Christmas.

Feeling a little bit better about anime in general, I started hunting through Netflix to see what they had to offer.

There is a surprisingly wide selection, they even recently added Howl’s to the on-demand selection so I can watch it whenever I want. I was poking around to see what was there and came across a series of CGI anime called TO.

Googling the word "TO" is just asking for a headache.

 

TO is a tangentially linked pair of stories broken into two “episodes” set in a dystopian future and takes place on various spacecraft and a research station on an alien world. If you’ve never heard of it or seen it, you should. It is beautifully animated and the story is very well done, I was quite enchanted with it.

I headed to Google to see what I could find out and learned the very special difficulties that come with searching for a movie with with a name like “TO”.

There were over twenty-five billion hits.

Screw that, I’m just gonna go watch it again.

I did manage to find the official website where you can watch a few clips, if you are so interested.

