I was enjoying the bounty of Netflix and watching Up for probably the tenth time the other day.

The beginning – right after Ellie and Carl meet for the first time – when we are treated to a montage that is basically their entire married life in less than ten minutes with absolutely no dialogue, is my favorite part and always manages to choke me up a bit. It is perhaps one of the best scenes I’ve seen in a film, animated or live-action.

While I was watching this quite moving series of scenes, I had a thought – this short little bit of animation was more romantic and heart-breakingly beautiful than all four books and the movies in the Twilight series. Granted, that could be said of many things; but the fact that a children’s animated movie managed to do in such a short time what an author and an entire multi-million dollar film franchise hasn’t been able to do … that’s just sad.

