On Monday Firefly got a hold of my packet of sandwich meat, by the time I got it back from her there wasn’t much left.

Apparently thievery makes her sleepy.

Time to go to the grocery store!

I stopped on the way home and checked out the specials and the markdowns, eventually selecting a package from the markdown section. I picked up a few things and made my way to the checkout. As the cashier was ringing me up, she brought my attention to the packet of sandwich meat.

“You know, this same brand is by one, get one free this week. You can get a fresh package for half of what this costs.”

“No, I didn’t. I didn’t see any like this on the shelf.”

“They changed the package a little bit. Do you want me to go get one for you?” I told her that she didn’t have to, but she finished ringing everything else and then went to get the meat. While she was gone I was putting my things in the bag that I had brought (Always bring a bag!) when I heard a voice beside.

“You don’t have to do that.”

Another customer had appeared behind me and was putting her things on the belt. She looked to be a bit older than me, maybe in her forties.

“The cashier went to get something for me, so I’m putting my stuff in my bag so she doesn’t have to do it.”

“But that’s her job!”

Technically I guess that’s true, but it wasn’t her job to save me two dollars and a trip back across the store. I didn’t want to stand there like a great big lump and wait for the nice woman to come back and have her do it. It’s not like my arms don’t work.

I made sure to thank the cashier again before I left, she was surprisingly chipper for someone who spends as much time interacting with people as she must.

