So after far too much procrastination, I’ve started on a Batman bag of my own. Instead of the classic black-and-yellow color scheme, I went something a little more colorful. This means I spent the weekend cutting out tiny bits of fabric (after a quick trip to The Scrap Exchange.)

If I’ve never mentioned The Scrap Exchange before, I should have – the place is awesome! It’s in Durham (NC) and has all sorts of industrial surplus from local businesses with tons of medical and sciencey stuff. (I think a lot of it comes from Duke.)

That’s a pretty good deal.

They have loads of upholstery and other fabrics, which was what I wanted. Since I was after a lot of different shades of specific colors, the best deal for me was the dollar bags.

Two dollar bags stuffed with quality fabrics (the one of the left nearly exploded when I unzipped it) and an upholstery sample book. Not pictured, two sets of knitting needles, three clasps, six cell phone charm buckles, and some kind of specimen prep tray with different sized wells that I’m going to use as a palette.

After much cutting and arranging, I came up with Version The First.

My fingers twitch just looking at the picture.

I liked Version The First, but it seemed too busy to me – too much color. So I went back and picked out all the yellows (and the striped bits since I decided I didn’t like the way they looked) and replaced them with more red.

I give you Version Two: Eclectic Boogaloo.

It’s not really that pink, the flash does weird things sometimes.

I think this version is much more unified and looks much better. Much more cohesive. I’m still going to fiddle around with the pieces for a bit, but those are going to be minor tweaks.

Many thanks to Mother Dearest for the idea to pin the pieces to a piece of cardboard (that’s what those little yellow dots are on the left.) This part, the fidgeting and getting everything exactly right, is both the fun part and the frustrating part. It’s when you can exercise your creativity to the fullest, but to do so you have to cut out and arrange over three hundred tiny pieces of fabric (with three “helper” cats.) Anyone who regularly does charm quilts has my utmost respect.

