October is fast approaching, which means NaNoWriMo is right around the corner. :pauses for scream: normally by this time of year I’ve at least got an outline ready and have started on whatever research I feel I need to do. However, this year I find myself waffling. My NaNovel from last year, the Cinderella reimagining, is about ninety-five percent complete – but I hate it. While I do love some of the characters, the plot feels forced and clunky and the protagonist, Jinx, is drifting dangerously close to Mary Sue territory instead of being the character I want her to be. I’m at the point where I want to scrap it all and start fresh with a revamped plot.

So here’s my quandary; should I try to start something new for NaNo, or redo last year’s work into something I’d be happy to call my own?

And then Taco posted his writing challenge and add a whole new wrinkle to things. As soon as I read it a particular fic sprang to mind, just begging me to rewrite it, but that opens up another can of confusion. This fic doesn’t contain any canon characters at all and reads like an original work of fiction rather than a fanfic. This makes me extremely hesitant, since rewriting an original work smacks of plagiarism, even if it’s done in fun. But once an idea gets in my head, it’s hard to shake it loose, so I had another thought. What if I rewrote the fic but added in the canon elements that are missing, essentially re-engineering the fic?

My brain went all tingly, which is a good thing.

I am leaning heavily towards the fic re-engineering even though a month is a short amount of time to get a story written, edited, and polished, but it would be more of a challenge than churning out another bag of words.

