Thursday marked the opening day of the NC state fair, held in Raleigh.

Whee.

As I happen to work in this same city, I have had dozens of people ask me if I plan on going.

No, no I’m not.

I have nothing against the fair as a concept and wouldn’t mind going to see some of the exhibits, that just isn’t enough of a draw to justify the expense and hassle of going.

I deal with enough jackasses at work, thank you very much.

As I have an intense dislike of crowds, don’t enjoy riding the rides, and I have no desire to gorge myself on calorie-laded fried foods prepared under questionable sanitary conditions, there’s really no point in me going.

It would be different if I was going with someone, since I like seeing people I know being happy, but I don’t think that’s going to happen this year either. The last time I went was when the Things were much smaller and easier to distract with free stuff.

Are you sure I can’t get this deep-fried and smothered in chocolate?

Oddly enough I do like the midway even though it’s usually one of the most crowded places, but my poor hand-eye coordination and complete lack of anything resembling skill means it would be easier for me to simply set fire to my money from the comfort of my own home. Oh, well.

