Prepare to feel a little better about humanity.

I often have people bring me things that they find in the parking lot or in the lobby, so on Friday when a woman walked up to my desk and said she had found something outside I didn’t think too much about it. I held out my hand and she dropped a wad of bills – all singles – into my hand. She had found the money, fifty dollars in all, in the parking lot while driving around to use the ATM.

There were no cars nearby.

There were no people nearby.

Just this woman and a big lump of untraceable cash.

And did I mention it was raining a little bit?

This saint in a windbreaker stopped her car, got out into the wet, picked up the money, drove around to the front of the building, parked again, came inside, and voluntarily handed over fifty dollars.

Holy shit, lady.

