I had an odd phone call the other day. A woman with a British accent called asking about getting some English pounds. I informed her that we could order foreign currency, but since we didn’t keep it on hand it would take several days for it to arrive.

You would have thought I had told her Santa Claus was secretly a Nazi.

She railed at me for several minutes wanting to know why we, an American bank, didn’t have and pounds and how very terrible in general we were. Apparently she was leaving in a few days and didn’t have time to wait. I told her there was a currency exchange at the airport and this set her off again – because I was somehow inconveniencing her. I may have then mentioned that most people who travelling from the US to England usually go through an airport at some point.

She hung up on me.

