When I bought my house, the front door was a hideous salmon-orange color and the fridge was a bland beige.

Dear Former home owner,
What were you thinking?

This is after the second coat of white primer – it used to match the stove.

That had to be changed.

Enter Bullseye!

Canned awesomeness.

This stuff is fantastic. It goes on like plain old latex paint, if a bit thick after it’s stirred, but it sticks to damn near anything. Enamel paint, like the door and fridge? Yep. Faux wood, like on the kitchen cabinets? Yep. (Skin? Yep. It sticks to that really well.)

There are a few drawbacks. You have to wait seven days for it to cure and set before applying the colored paint, and you also have to seal the surface if it’s in a high-use area – like the fridge. the first coat of regular paint takes forever to dry, which makes sense on a non-porous surface. There’s nowhere for the paint to seep into.

As far as primers go, it’s the easiest to use I’ve ever had my hands on. It cleans up just like regular old latex paint. As someone remodeling on a tight budget, it is one of the best values I’ve come across – at less than twenty dollars a gallon, it is cheaper than many house paints and much cheaper than enamel (which smells bad and requires special precautions.) It’s also allowing me to change things that I would normally be unable to do because of price or impracticality.

Like the ugly laminate front of my breakfast bar and my beloved blue/purple fridge. (Hi, GhostDad!)

I have noticed that some finishes, like whatever was used on the oak bits of the kitchen cabinets, tends to leach through the first layer of primer. It’s best to use at least two, possibly more, to make sure you have complete coverage. The front door received four but has yet to get more than one coat of blue. It’s been on the to-do list for a while.

