I am a YouTube addict – I could (and have) spent hours watching videos online. My favorite thing is to link-jump, I’ll watch a video and then click on the link for one of the suggested videos. I usually end up somewhere completely different from where I began, which is the fun part. The other day I had just finished watching a tea ceremony video (I have no idea why I watched it, but it was awesome) I noticed another one with the letters ASMR beside it. Being an adventurous soul, I clicked on it. It was pretty much the same thing I had just watched, but with better sound. In the sidebar, where the suggested videos are displayed, there were a ton of other videos with the same four letters added to the titles but none of them appeared to involve tea.

Now I was curious. I opened a new tab and Googled ASMR. It apparently stands for “Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response” and according to the first website that popped up, is “a physical sensation characterized by a pleasurable tingling that typically begins in the head and scalp, and often moves down the spine and through the limbs.” Sounds odd to me, but maybe the tea thing didn’t do it for me. I went back to my YouTube page and clicked on one of the other ASMR videos.

Nothing.

:click:

Nothing.

:click:

Nothing. I figured I wasn’t one of the whatever percent (it varies from ninety to fifty percent depending on who’s quoting the statistics) of the population that doesn’t get the tingles, but decided to give it one more shot. The supposed triggers for the sensation are so varied, from people whispering to presents being wrapped, that it could just be I hadn’t found my particular “trigger” yet. I clicked on another link and promptly felt like my scalp was trying to crawl off my skull.

Since then I have found numerous videos that give me that odd little tingle, which I still don’t quite understand. According to some of the posts on YouTube, today (April 9th) is considered ASMR Day, so I’m going to share one of my most recent favorites. Even if you don’t get tingles the role-playing is pretty neat. (Roleplay videos are very popular, there’s even a few that have a zombie apocalypse theme.)

